Alexander the Great

14 Nov

 

Alexander the Great in battle with Persians

Hey there Mr.Great!  I’m gonna ask you some questions today, and I hope you won’t mind.

Q: So Mr.Great, when were you born and when did you die?

A: Well, I was born in 356 BC, son of  Philip II, the king of Macedonia, and Olympias of Epirus.  I was lucky to have the great philosopher Aristotle as my teacher when father invited him to the Macedonian court in 342.  Unfortunately, my father was assassinated in 336, and I was to become king. I died 323 BC.  I was ill for several days before dying in the city of Babylon on June 13. Sorry for the long drawn out answer, I’m quite intense.

Q: Thats quite alright.  Anyways, are there any major conquests you’ve had?

A: Actually, yes.  Yes indeed!  I’ve been known for never losing a conquest.  Well in 334,  my army (which was pretty small) and I crossed the Dardanelles into Asian Minor.  The Persian Army of Asia Minor assembled to  fight and on the east bank of the Granicus River.  I led my army through the river into the Persian line, and us Macedonians were victorious. I was pretty happy because winning the Battle of Granicus, I established myself as a great commander.  We also won the Battle of Issus.  The Persians sued for peace, but I refused.  Appartently historians have seen this me having an intent to march deep into Persia, which I guess is pretty true.  I continued south into Egypt. I then visted the oracle of Amon at Siwa in 331, for some reason the people called me pharoah.  We had several successes after, and at the Battle of Gaugamela, we defeated King Darius III and his army once again.  The Persian Empire was destroyed! We defeated Persia at Arbela in 331 AD! OMG! I was so ecstatic!

Q: That’s astounding!  Anything else you want to say? About culture, life in general?

A: Ahh yes!  Which brings me to the time when I took my army all the way to the Indus.  Another awesome victory for us!  After that my army nagged me to return, so I did. Along the way, I founded some cities which helped me to spread Greek culture. My army and I traveled with scientists and men of the liberal arts to try to spread Greek thought across the known world.  In 324 in Babylonia, a lot of peeps started hatin on me.  I guess people didn’t like me adopting some Persian ways. 

Q: Oh, I’m sorry about that.  Well that about does it for this interview, any last things you’d like to say?

A: Well I’m gonna do some braggin here, not to be arrogant.  I’m just kinda gonna give you a recap on me.  So… I’d consider myself pretty important for my military accomplishments and impressive for my conquests. I spread Greek culture too!  During my reign you could say a new era arose, one in which Greek culture spread to new areas. The Hellenistic culture:)

“Alexander the Great.” World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras. ABC-CLIO, 2010. Web. 3 Nov. 2010. <http://ancienthistory.abc-clio.com/&gt;

Leave a comment