Julius Caeser/Fall of the Roman Republic

14 Nov

Julius Caesar

Ayyyy! It’s my man Julius!  Ready for the interview Julius?  Okay let’s get started!

Q: Can you tell me about your childhood?

A: I was born in 100 BC, son of a noble patrician family.   My childhood was filled with political turmoil.  I spent some time studying in Asia Minor before starting my military and political career.

Q: How’d you distinguish yourself?

A: I returned to Rome in 73 B.C. to assume the duties of a pontifex (an important Roman priest) and then worked my way up to become a military commander.  Me and my man Pompey dominated Roman politics.

Q: What did you do during your lifetime?

A: In 58 BC, me and my army went out to make some conquests.  You know how it is.  And what was pretty cool was we conquered Gaul (modern day France and Belgium) after 9 years of fighting.  Pompey was jealous of me and scared that I people would think I’m better than him (which I am!), so he told the senate to make me break up my army.  Of course I said no!  Then I crossed the Rubicon River to enter Rome (which was against the law but whatevs).  Civil war erupted across Rome.  I then killed Pompey and his supporters for control of Rome.  Then, I forced the senate to make me dictator for life!  I maintained the senate and other features of the republic, but i was the absolute ruler of Rome.

Q: What kind of things did you do when in control?

A: Well between 48 BC and 44 BC, I made a bunch of reforms.  I made a program to give jobless people jobs and public land to the poor, I reorganized the government of the provinces and granted Roman citizenship to more people, and I created the Julian calender (which is used today).  

Q: How did you die?

A: Short story short, on March 14, 44 BC, I was killed by senate members by being stabbed to death.  My enemies were worried I would make myself king of Rome and thought this would save the republic. 

Q:What happened after this?

A:Well my death caused Rome to undergo even more civil wars.  My allies Mark Antony and Octavian defeated the senate.  Octavinian defeated Mark Antony in 31 BC and gained power.

Esler, Ellis. Prentice Hall World History. Boston, MA, Glenview, IL, Shoreview, MN, Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson Education, 2009. 158. Print.

Leave a comment